top of page
Search
  • sydapril6

Exploring Sustainability...

I'll just start off by saying I am no gamer. The last time I touched a video game was back in the early 2000s when my sisters and I owned a green Nintendo 64 game console and would fight over who would get to play Donkey Kong that day. So as you can see it has been a while.


However I do find it interesting coming up with a video game concept that can help increase awareness of sustainable behavior. I'm more surprised to not have heard of any as the world is becoming more and more eco friendly but this is again coming from an "outsiders" perspective on the gaming world. There very well may be games already out there that exist that I have NO idea about...please correct me if I'm wrong. Back to the point, video games have a way of encouraging creative & strategic thinking, helping people make sense of complex problems.


That being said, I noticed there are a lot of games that use combat as a way for the player to collect resources to live and ultimately "win" the game. But what if instead of using combat we create a game that uses scavenging as a way to collect these resources. It will encouraging players to interact with their environment in creative ways rather than just looking for targets.

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Digital Storytelling: A Review of Ch. 13 -17

Ch. 13 Over the last quarter century digital storytelling has been applied to numerous contexts. What makes this possible is that human expression has made its way into every context. To keep this goi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page