top of page
Search
  • sydapril6

Podcasts: The Moth, Columbia University & This American Life

The Moth Radio Hour:


Out of the entire podcast the one that I felt most touched by was Ijeomu and her vacuum story. She was telling a story about a story and how it helped her realize that yeah her home was different but it was also filled with some of her funnest memories as a child. There were parts of the story I noticed my mood changed, I felt for her but then she quickly followed up with a joke or how she notices it has effected her adult life and it makes me smile. Her storytelling made it easy for me to envision scenes in my head compared to a couple of the others where I felt I was just listening to a lecture. You can tell from the audience in the background she was able to connect with her listeners. When it came to the other stories I couldn't quite connect as much. I felt I was just listening to an audio book...one that I couldn't provide any of my own visuals to. However, I loved how the production of this podcast made me feel as if I were sitting in the audience; The background noise added to this effect!


This American Life:


After listening to their latest podcast I went back to listen to older ones and I was blown away. The stories told on TAL are compelling and entertaining. Some of the stories really make you think or see a new perspective then the one you started listening with (if you had one that is). Most of the stories are told with such depth you realize how similar ( or dissimilar) our lives are to other Americans. That being said, the cadence and flow of this show is perfectly timed and the host, Ira is a great addition.


Columbia University:


The podcast I listened to was on AI intelligence and I found it highly intuitive and interesting. Compared to the podcast of TAL & The Moth, I liked how this was set up as an open discussion. It wasn't just one person telling the story but more of the feeling people gathered at a table to discuss their points on a certain subject. It was informative and a podcast I would listen to again!




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Digital Storytelling: A Review of Ch. 13 -17

Ch. 13 Over the last quarter century digital storytelling has been applied to numerous contexts. What makes this possible is that human expression has made its way into every context. To keep this goi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page