top of page
Search
  • sydapril6

Who Wants to Invest in My Game?

Finding someone to invest $200K in my video game idea would be nothing less of challenging, I mean would you give someone that much money to build a game you don't even know will be a success? I know I wouldn't but that's just me. I guess that's the jittery part of being an investor and know I understand why the investors on Shark Tank take it SO seriously when evaluating a start up product. After all you are spending your own time and resources on this. That being said, I feel I have some sort of game plan for I would try to convince someone to take a leap of faith on me:


1. I would need to know the appropriate investors. After all, I wouldn't got to an investor you throws money into burger joints would I? Before I could ask anyone for money, I would need to analyze the market that I am trying to go into. In this case, we all know a video game but what are the species? Is it a console video game or a mobile game....or both? I need to know all of these answers before I will ever see any type of money.


2. Once I have figured out who I want to invest, I would devise a document that would have all of their contact info and other companies they have funded. This way I would stay organize and know who I have and have not spoken with.


3. Instead of being a total stranger and introducing myself saying "Oh hey give me $200k for a video game!", I would first look at the contact I already have to see if they would introduce me first. I would think it is better to have a warm introduction than a cold one.


4. Once I get that middle man to introduce me thenI would need a pitch. I'm already assuming these investors that I will be introduced to are very busy so they do not have to read a long email. I would need something powerful, succinct and easy to follow. That way the middleman who is going to introduce the conversation won't have any confusion.


5. Finding someone to give you this amount of money and time is no easy task so I'm prepared for my first MANY investors to say no. It's all part of the game! However, every meeting I have I can learn something from so it is important for me to take notes.


All of this will take time and is a strenuous process. I can't expect to find anyone overnight. Usually deals like this take months, even longer....you just have to stick to the plan!!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Digital Storytelling: A Review of Ch. 13 -17

Ch. 13 Over the last quarter century digital storytelling has been applied to numerous contexts. What makes this possible is that human expression has made its way into every context. To keep this goi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page